Fridays 9:00PM ET

Browse the Bands


Gruff Rhys

Rhys is a member of the Super Furry Animals who were at the forefront of the wave of Welsh bands that obtained mainstream success in the 1990s. After playing drums for the band Emily, Gruff Rhys found fame in Wales as the front man of Ffa Coffi Pawb. On signing to Ankstmusik, Ffa Coffi Pawb became one of the leading bands on the Welsh music scene, and released three albums - Clymhalio, Dalec Peilon and Hei Vidal!'.  On 24 January 2005, Gruff Rhys released his first solo album, Yr Atal Genhedlaeth on the Placid Casual label. This was a loose, sketchy, all-Welsh-language record, with most of the instruments played by Rhys.  Rhys has also completed work on a new electro-pop collaborative project with Boom Bip under the collective monicker Neon Neon.  Their album, titled Stainless Style, is reportedly a concept album based on the tumultuous life of De Lorean Motor Company founder John De Lorean, and is due to release in February 2008. The album will include a number of high-profile guest appearances from Fab Moretti of The Strokes, Har Mar Superstar, Yo Majesty, Spank Rock and The Magic Numbers. The first single, Raquel, will be released on November 26, 2007.  The band are currently streaming two songs from the album on their myspace page. (Source:

Find out more

Be their friend and sample their music: